A SAFER

FLORIDA

HIGHWAY SAFETY AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Information of Interest to Florida Drivers

The New School Year Starts: A new school year is about to begin! As summer vacations end, students
across Florida get ready to start a new school year. Along with all the preparations everyone must make,
safety is an important part of the start of the new school year. Parents must work with their children to develop
a safety plan to reduce the risk of accidents and injuries. Here are a few safety tips for school bus riders:

Have a safe place to wait for your bus, away from traffic and the street.

Stay away from the bus until it comes to a complete stop and the driver signals you to enter.
Use the handrail when getting on or off the bus.

Keep seated, with feet out of the aisles.

Never put head, arms or hands out of the window.

Do NOT stand up until the bus comes to a complete stop.

Be aware of the street traffic around you.

Cross in front of the bus, NEVER behind, and be sure the driver of the bus can see you.
NEVER stop, turn back, or reach under the bus.

Be aware of the street traffic around you.

Safety tips for pedestrians or bike riders:

e Never walk alone — always travel with a friend.

e Pay attention to all traffic signals and crossing guards.

e Never cross the street against a stop light.

¢ Avoid loose clothing that can get caught in spokes or pedals and wear reflective colors and material to be
better seen in street traffic.

e Walk your bike across all intersections.

Information for Teen Drivers: The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has a parents
section on its teen driving website at www.flhsmv.gov/teens. The website provides parents with useful
information to help them teach their teens to become safe drivers. Florida’s graduated driver licensing program
allows teens to obtain a learner’s permit at age 15, which restricts them to driving only with a licensed adult
under certain conditions. Other restrictions apply to teens with an operator’s license until they turn 18.

To ensure that both parents and teens have a complete understanding of the law, an explanation of each
phase of the graduated licensing program, and the related restrictions, can be found on the website. Certain
behaviors are associated a high fatality rate of teen drivers including: inexperience and immaturity combined
with speed, alcohol consumption, not wearing seatbelts, distractions, drowsiness, and driving when visibility is
limited. The website includes a driving guide and a driving log to track the 50 hours of practice that teens must
record to obtain their intermediate operator’s license. To visit the website, please go to:
www.flhsmv.gov/teens.

Customer Service Center Improves Call Wait Times and Service: In the past year, the DHSMV CSC

reduced call wait times by 33 percent and increased the number of calls answered by 25 percent. The

following process changes helped the CSC realize the improvements:

e The CSC recently cross-trained four members so they can answer questions related to a variety of
topics.

e The CSC boosted the availability employees to take incoming calls from 75 percent to 82 percent.
Representatives may use remaining time to complete paperwork and research related to calls.

e DHSMV implemented RightNow technology to help customers navigate to the information they need
online. The technology has helped the CSC reduce turnaround time of responses email inquiries by
48 percent to 1.3 days. The decrease in emails has allowed the CSC to put more employees on the
telephones, and it has reduced the number of customers who call or email the CSC.
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Emergency Contact Information: More than five million Floridians have registered their Emergency Contact
Information with the Department. DHSMV is proud of the success of the ECI Program and encourages
Floridians to give their loved ones the peace of mind that comes with registering their information, especially
during the hurricane season. The Emergency Contact Information program allows licensed drivers and
identification card holders to submit two contacts to notify in the event of an emergency, such as a vehicle
crash. The information can then be accessed, only in the case of an emergency, by law enforcement officers.
To record your information, please visit www.flhsmv.gov/eci/.

Documentation Requirements Available Online: DHSMV recommends our customers visit
www.GatherGoGet.com, a website dedicated to assist Floridians with the new driver license and identification
card requirements. Floridians renewing or obtaining a new license or ID are required to show proof of: 1)
identification, 2) Social Security number and 3) residential address (two items).

The website and its tools are also available in Spanish at www.ReunaVengaObtenga.com and in Creole at
www.RasanbleAlePran.com.

The Department is issuing driver licenses and identification cards that meet new federal standards.

First, Get an Appointment: All customers who must visit one of our offices to renew, replace, or file a change
of address to their driver license or identification card, are urged to secure an appointment prior to their visit.
Connect via Internet at https://services.flhsmv.gov/Oasis/ for an appointment to reduce the length of the visit.
Driver license offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Please check our website at
www.flhsmv.qgov/offices/ for the most up-to-date information on office locations and schedules.

Credit Cards Accepted: Driver license offices throughout the state are accepting credit cards! Cards
accepted include MasterCard, American Express and Discover. We also accept personal checks and cash.
We again strongly encourage all our customers to skip the trip to an office by visiting the DHSMV website at
www.GoRenew.com, and utilize our on-line services to renew their driver licenses, identifications cards,
vehicle tags and change their addresses, eligible.

Driver Licenses and ldentification Card Fees

Class E (original and renewal) $48 Commercial Driver License (original and renewal) $75
ID Card (original and renewal) $25
Replacement License or ID $25
Endorsements $7

Driver License Services at Tax Collector Office Service Fees $ 6.25

For a complete listing of all motorist services fees, please click here.

The Department uses a combination of vehicle information to determine registration fees. This includes
registration use, license plate type and class code. The class code is determined by the vehicle weight, body
type, vehicle type and registration use. To see a sample, click here.

For a list of frequently asked questions and answers regarding Florida's fees, click here.

Buckle Up Every Time, Everyone!
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